United States House of Representatives

"We the People of the United States…"

September 17, 1787
Current Place
Washington, D.C., United States of America


As per the Constitution, the U.S. House of Representatives makes and passes federal laws. The House is one of Congress’s two chambers (the other is the U.S. Senate), and part of the federal government’s legislative branch. The number of voting representatives in the House is fixed by law at no more than 435, proportionally representing the population of the 50 states.

Something Missing? Feel Feel to Help Fix It - Sign up !